Many businesses in Dakota County generate hazardous waste, such as light bulbs, batteries, paint and more. The Very Small Quantity Generator (VSQG) Program through Dakota County helps these businesses properly dispose of their hazardous waste. Visit the Dakota County VSQG site to submit an application online and find more information.

Waste drop-off is by appointment only with an approved application.

The Recycling Zone
3365 Dodd Road

Eagan, MN 55121

Accepted Items (click here for disposal and recycling costs)

  • Hazardous waste (acids, adhesives, paint, fuels, poisons)
  • Fuels, gasoline, oil, and oil filters
  • Paint, stains, thinners, and paint stripper
  • Compressed gas cylinders (propane, MAPP)
  • Compact fluorescent bulbs
  • Straight fluorescent tubes
  • Shatter-shielded fluorescent bulbs
  • U-shaped and circular fluorescent bulbs
  • HID and low-pressure sodium bulbs
  • LED lamps
  • Neon lamps
  • Broken bulbs (packaged in sealed containers)
  • PCB and non-PCB ballasts
  • Mercury and mercury devices (thermostats, switches, thermometers, relays, manometers, barometers, thermocouples, gauges, etc.)
  • Electronics
  • Batteries
  • Cell phones

Not Accepted

  • Appliances
  • Microwaves
  • Yard waste
  • Trash
  • Medical equipment
  • Free-standing copiers
  • Business sharps
  • Controlled substances

Transporting fluorescent bulbs

  • Count each type of bulb and bring the count with you.
  • Transport bulbs in original cartons or similar containers to prevent breakage. Broken bulbs are considerably more expensive to recycle.
  • Don’t tape bulbs together.

Cash, check or Visa/MasterCard payment is due at the time of delivery. Make checks payable to Dakota County. Businesses receive a receipt upon payment.

Free disposal for Xcel customers
One visit per year, you can bring in your Xcel utility statement and receive free disposal of up to 10 fluorescent bulbs.

For more information, call the Dakota County Environmental Resources at 952-891-7557.

For information on all Dakota County business programs, please see Dakota County Programs. 


Contact Us

City Education Department
13713 Frontier Court
Burnsville, MN 55337-3817
Phone: 952-895-4559

Dakota Valley Recycling

DVR is the partnership recycling department for the Cities of Apple Valley, BurnsvilleEagan and Lakeville that connects residents and businesses to recycling, composting and waste disposal information.

DVR is not a drop off facility and does not accept any materials for recycling.